North Carolina Peace Prize

The North Carolina Peace Prize was established over 20 years ago to honor small North Carolina community-based, nonprofit groups that honor the values of the Peace Corps: helping people to help themselves and promoting peace and cross-cultural understanding. The prize consists of a financial contribution and recognition at a ceremony held in the spring in Raleigh, NC. 

Student Action with Farm Workers receiving the first ever North Carolina Peace Prize.

NCPCA awarded its 2024 North Carolina Peace Prize to Arts Access North Carolina, a nonprofit organization dedicated to making the arts accessible to people with disabilities. Read more here.

Past Peace Prize Recipients

Year Recipient Featured Speaker
2024  Arts Access North Carolina  Robert Parish, Reverend and Arts Access Board Member
2023 Commotion
2022 H.E.A.R.T.S. 
2020 Anathoth Community Garden
2019 Witness for Peace Southeast Rob Christensen, Columnist for The News & Observer
2018 Learning Outside Gene Nichol Boyd, Tinsley Distinguished Professor University of North Carolina
2017 International Focus Tom Vitaglione, Adjunct Professor, UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health. RPCV Malawi
2016 The Refugee Center Richard Harrill, Executive Director, Campus Y, University of North Carolina
2015 Hispanic Liaison of Chatham County Barry Saunders, Columnist for the News & Observer
2014 Community Empowerment Fund Glenn Blumhorst, President National Peace Corps Association. RPCV Guatemala
2013 4 the World Matt Nash, Center for Advancement of Social Entrepreneurship at Duke University, RPCV Romania
2012 Achievement Academy Honorable Sarah Parker, Chief Justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court. RPCV Turkey
2011 Uniting NC Dr. Jack Allison, Professor of Emergency Medical Care, Western Carolina University. RPCV Malawi
2010 USCRI US Committee for Refugees and Immigrants Stephen R. Kelley, Diplomat in Residence Duke University
2009 Source Force Allison Prager, Master of Arts Candidate at West Virginia University. RPCV Lesotho
2008 Nourish International Jody Olsen, The 20th Director of the Peace Corps. RPCV Tunisia
2007 None awarded
2006 My Sister’s House Honorable Sarah Parker, Chief Justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court. RPCV Turkey
2005 Center for Participatory Change
2004 High Country Amigos
2003 Durham-San Ramon Sister Communities
2002 El Centro Hispano
2001 SEEDS South Easton Efforts Developing Sustainable Spaces
2000 Friends of Glenwood Library
1996 Student Action with Farmworkers RPCV Robert Pastor, Carter Center in Atlanta
Skip to content